An Inside Look at My Make-up Routine for Rosacea

If you have sensitive skin, stubborn acne, or redness from Rosacea you’re trying to conceal, then today’s post is for YOU.

I’ve struggled with Rosacea for YEARS and I wanted to share some of my strategies for managing this condition in case anyone else out there is dealing with this frustrating condition too. There is no cure for Rosacea, but there are ways to manage it  and find some confidence in the process.

In case you’re a more visual person, I made a video walking you step-by-step through which make-up products I use for hiding my Rosacea and why. Otherwise, keep reading to see each individual product with links to learn more!


Primer

Revlon Photoready Pore Reducing Primer

Image result for revlon photoready primer pore reducing

Primer’s are such a struggle for me. The good ones clog my pores and cause a Rosacea flare up. The bad ones are greasy,

don’t hold make-up in place, and are usually overpriced.

The Revlon Photoread Pore Reducing Primer is different. It’s affordable and it works. Not only does it smooth out my skin, but it also helps correct my skin tone. Added bonus? My make-up stays in place for 8+ hours. Heaven.


Foundation

Bye Bye Redness – i.t. Cosmetics

Image result for bye bye redness it cosmetics

I LOVE this product. It conceals redness, stays in place all day, and it heals my skin. Yup, it HEALS. That’s because it’s a hybrid make-up/skincare product. It contains colloidal oatmeal, which soothes and hydrates inflamed, dry skin + aloe and avocado to help with color correction.

The creator of this skincare line is a Rosacea sufferer herself, so she worked with plastic surgeons and dermatologists to create a line specifically for her skin type. All I have to say is, thank you. Without this product, I would be truly lost.


Under Eye Concealer

Maybelline Instant Rewind Dark Circles Eraser

Image result for maybelline instant age rewind concealer

I found this product in the clearance isle at Walmart for $3. Since I’m brave and needed a new concealer I thought “why not” and gave it a try. Again, I’m in LOVE with this product. It goes on smooth, hides my dark circles and doesn’t settle into fine lines or wrinkles!

Because of how pleased I am with this make-up, I plan on trying out a few of their other age correcting products in the future.


Eyeshadow

Urban Decay Basics 2 Palette

Image result for urban decay naked 2 basics

Is this eyeshadow expensive? Yes.

Is this eyeshadow the bomb.com? 100%

I’m a simple gal and this basic color palette serves me well for any occasion. It lasts all day, doesn’t smudge, and doesn’t settle in the creases of my oily eyes (so annoying). Plus, a little goes a long way. It’s definitely worth the investment.


Eyeliner

Revlon Colorstay Waterproof Eyeliner

Image result for revlon colorstay eyeliner

Did I mention I have oily eyes? Well, I do and it’s a big problem for me and eye make-up in general. The oil tends to cause my eyeshadows to crease and my eyeliner to smudge or smear out the corners of my eye lids…

However, my oily eyes have not been an issue with this eyeliner. It stays in place just like the marketing on the package states it will + there are a variety of shades to choose from. I’m very satisfied with the modest price of $6 too.


Mascera

Maybelline Mega Plush Volum’ Express

Image result for maybelline mega plush volum express

I’ve always used Maybelline Mascera (since highschool) and I’ve never been disappointed. My other favorites are by Clinique, but I actually prefer this brand above all else. Not only is it affordable, but it also stays in place, doesn’t clump up, and makes my thinning eyelashes look fantastic.

Personally, I prefer masceras that add volume versus length, so I can only speak to this quality in my recommendation. But I’m sure their masceras for length are just as good too!


Foundation Powder

Revlon Colorstay Pressed Powder

Image result for revlon colorstay powder

Finally, I will conclude my list of preferred Rosacea make-up products with the Revlon Colorstay pressed powder. It goes on light (not cakey at all), lasts all day, and sets my concealer and foundation wonderfully.

The best parts are that it is affordable, doesn’t cause breakouts or flare-ups, and it’s easy to find a shade that matches my fair, yet olive toned skin.


What about you? What are some make-up products you LOVE that are also beneficial to sensitive skin types? Let’s share the love in the comments below so that we ladies with finicky skin can all still have fun wearing and experimenting with make-up too 🙂

 

One thought on “An Inside Look at My Make-up Routine for Rosacea

Leave a comment